About the Champlain History Center
The Samuel de Champlain History Center, established by founder and director Celine Racine Paquette during preparations for the 2009 Champlain Quadricentennial, is located in the Village of Champlain in the historic former First National Bank of Champlain building at 202 Elm Street, constructed in 1880. It is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and New York State provisionally chartered museum that seeks to preserve the Village and Town of Champlain's history.
The first-floor local history exhibit tells the story of the village and town's history through a display of artifacts, informational posters, and a guided tour. The upstairs archive and reading room offers researchers and community members a chance to explore the region's history, the heritage of Franco-Americans in the region, and the intersection between the two that gives the Champlain Valley, and Champlain specifically, its unique character.
To collect, document, research and interpret the history of the Village and Town of Champlain through exhibits and programs; and to gather, preserve, display and make available for study a large collection of Franco-American artifacts, books and manuscripts.
Board of Trustees:
- Celine Racine Paquette, Ed.D., founder and president
- David Patrick
- Allen James Racine, Jr.
- Lockwood Robert Clark
- Nicholas Southwick
- David Graham
- Louise Pilon Graham